Birthday Bummers


On 20th October in once upon a time land came a baby. The baby would grow up to be another Primma Donna, crazy as could be. And as Eminem would have gone on to say, “Don’t dare make fun of that baby cause that baby was me.”
Yes, you read right. This past week yours truly celebrated his birthday……. again. The world rejoiced by killing Gaddafi and India is still celebrating with a week long holiday. Mother thinks the holidays are because of Diwali celebrations here, but I disagree. It is just a coincidence that Diwali came along the way.
And since you all mean so much to me, I am going to treat you to a picture of a smiling monkey on this auspicious occasion.

Smiling Monkey
The monkey wouldn’t smile so…

The Day in itself wan’t a great one. More like a day that would make a kid say, “Oh Boy! That was a bummer.”
Maybe you should reads the rest of the post as ‘Things one should not do on their Birthday’ or something along the lines.
During these holidays I had developed a habit of sleeping through the day rather than the night. So by the time I woke up I realized I had slept through most of my Birthday. Bummer #1

Birthdays are generally all about age and wisdom and looking back and thinking of all the things you have learnt. So I spent long and hard thinking about all the knowledge I had gained that I could impart on the younger generation. A few cups of coffee, 3 episodes of House and a lot of “Wise sayings’ books later I came to the conclusion, Chicken Soup for the soul is much better than ‘Wise Sayings 1-5’.Bummer #2

After that there wasn’t much to do so I checked my mail, only to be horrified by my inbox. 248 unread messages greeted me. The worst part of it all, most of those messages were personalized messages instead of the simple greetings I am used to getting. That meant another 6 hours spent replying to all of them. Time gone, B’day gone. Bummer #3

I wanted to enjoy what little time I had still left to go for my day to get over so I disconnected all the phone lines at my place and the internet connection. End result, I ended up not being at my surprise party. My friends had intended to call me over once all the guests had arrived but the call never came. Bummer #4

Four days later, I am still high on sugar hence the reason for me not having any good punchlines today. Bummer #5

This post has been such a Bummer. On the bright side, The Sami week hasn’t ended yet atleast in India it hasn’t. To those living abroad I hope you had a great Sami weekend.

Join in the weekly Embarrassment and Subscribe.

8 thoughts on “Birthday Bummers

Leave a Reply

