Sleep, that deplorable curtailment of the joy of life.


I have been experiencing hell for the past few days now. Figuratively. On second thoughts, hell might be a tad better. I’ve had problems before, big ones, small ones, silly ones and some not so silly ones but I’ve never quite experienced anything like this before. Sleep deprivation. Okay, I know it sounds like I’m exaggerating but I’m not. I haven’t had any sleep for almost 4 days now. Not a fun experience by any means. I always thought if we could skip out on sleep we could achieve so much more during the hours spent sleeping. Sadly reality is a far cry from it, I have barely been able to concentrate on anything, as if I’m in limbo or some other sort of oblivion. It has been a harrowing experience, like a load has been put on my shoulders which gets heavier every passing minute.

sleep deprivation

Approaching exams got me worried about my study schedule which was being messed up by this impediment. So I decided to seek out a cure, I did what any sane person would do, I Googled it. The results weren’t amusing. It said the leading factors to such a condition were, diabetes, depression, mental illness, anxiety. None of which I have, which leads me to believe it might be due to Natural selection. Can’t fight that now can I? Moving on, I tried searching for cures to such ailment albeit ones which did not involve treatment to the above mentioned symptoms. Now I can honestly say I tried all that was possible, counting sheep, reading a book, watching TV, starting a story in your head. None of which were productive except maybe the last one where I may have just outlined a plot to my future novel(s). A medical journal has it that the longest a man has survived without sleep is 10 days. He died on the 11th. Tempting as the idea of getting my name in the record books be, I am not ready to die… yet. Though I’m quite sure I will survive, I’d still like to get some shut eye. So if any of you happen to know of any remedies, do let me know. And before you all start suggesting sleep medications, I am not open to the idea of having to take pills to sleep. I might as well take pills to feel hungry then.
Yours sleepily

6 thoughts on “Sleep, that deplorable curtailment of the joy of life.

  1. No medication is a good policy, look what happened to Michael Jackson when he used propofol. Maybe an acupuncturist could help.

    • Acupuncturist? Aren’t those the guys who prick the skin to alleviate pain? Hmm, don’t know about it, going to the doctor for this makes it look like a big issue.

  2. I have heard of herbal teas that can help. Maybe drinking some warm milk? I honestly am not sure, but it is interesting. I might have to google it. ๐Ÿ˜› I have the opposite problem. I sleep TOO much. Darn depression. Hang in there. Stressing out about it isn’t going to help you sleep. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Likely, itโ€™s the other way round here too! Well I guess you must be having that feeling of โ€œSo much to do & so little time!โ€ due to exams. If that is it, perhaps you need to relax and take your own time for your SELF (not too much either!). Take a few long deep breaths and grin at yourself till your cheeks tear apart! Act the funniest way you can! Sounds silly but they do work if done heartily! ๐Ÿ˜€ And if itโ€™s not the stress, maybe you should do some physical workout or exercise till youโ€™re a dead beat which may drag you to sleep! Hope it works ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

