To Deal With A Liar


New day it is and with it come a lot of new things but come what may some things can never be changed like my intense dislike for being thrown of a bus, watching TV on low volume, getting pooped on by birds… you get the picture. And somewhere among that list is listening to people lie to my face, exaggerating every little detail to the pinnacle of their imagination. And the worst part is, these people never let go, they sure know how to hold on to an audience despite us not being interested. I am sure all you have come across such a situation where your only reaction is..

So I came up with 5 tips that may work for you(NOTE: Some liars are just too good to be avoided)
Play Along
Play along, It is so much fun giving the liar the satisfaction that they have succeeded.
Eg: Liar: I met the Queen yesterday, she said she’d loved to have me as her son.
You: Really?! Oh my God! Wow! You’re so wonderful.
      snigger.

Better Them
This one is best explained with an example between two social outcasts.
Eg: Outcast 1: I got laid yesterday!!
Outcast 2: I had a threesome (H)

Start Complaining
Make excuses, this puts the Liar off of his mojo
Eg: Liar: (Since I’m out of lies, pretend there’s a good one here)
You: You know your narrative could be a whole lot better, The way you put things you could make Harry Potter sound boring.
That is surely to get you out of a sticky situation.

Relate the story to a reality TV show
All you have to do is say, “The same thing happened on Paris Hilton’s BFF last week. Could it be a coincidence?”
Saying that is sure to make any liar uncomfortable. Be sure to relate it to some show the liar does not watch or it may get a little uncomfortable for you.

Play dead
If all else fails, fake a heart attack. It seemed to work for the guy in this story.

If all of this fails you’re dealing with a legend and only God can help you.
Until next time
Yours Deceitfully

15 thoughts on “To Deal With A Liar

  1. Well, girl’s have more tendency of lying, cause they gossip so much! Even guy’s do but to an extend girl’s exceed them, so bein one it’s more that i encounter liar’s so often, it’s so easy to find it also! There’s this girl, ever i say of somethin she has exactly the same incident wit her by just changin the character’s in my line! It sometime’s fascinate’s me of how well she can create thing’s, true a great liar has a real creative mind, so the day i’l meet the greatest liar!!(I ‘m sure i’l, there are so many on earth) i’l, ask him to write it all down, so that i can make a nice novel and title it!! ” Crazy creativities”:)

    • Its just the old concept, sana! I don’t disagree but there are guys who gossip much more, i guess u perhaps know a few too!
      But anyways these pretty helpful tips… In my case,
      If the liar is someone I adore then I’d play it along! 🙂
      And if its someone who’s just nothing but a pain, then i’d start complaining or play it along sarcastically 😉

  2. Its just the old concept, sana! I don’t disagree but there are guys who gossip much more, i guess u perhaps know a few too!

    But anyways these pretty helpful tips… In my case,
    If the liar is someone I adore then I’d play it along! 🙂
    And if its someone who’s just nothing but a pain, then i’d start complaining or play it along sarcastically 😉

  3. Wow these are good tips, specially might use the play dead one someday. Generally if people lie to me I play the deaf card (well I’m half deaf so I assume I can still use it), and either pretend I haven’t heard them, or repeat the words ‘what?’, ‘pardon?’, and ‘huh?’ a few times which generally puts them off because it’s hard to use effective come backs if the person your saying it to hasn’t heard you, or pretends not to anyway.

  4. I tend to disagree with you. Guys gossip as much as girls do. And in some case more than girls. They are just better at concealing their love for gossip. :p

Leave a Reply

