floccinaucinihilipilification!



I am lost in the teacher’s ramblings, I silently wait for that pause in her rally of words, waiting with baited breath for the exact moment when I can set my trap, posing it as a humble question or maybe a doubt as any other student would put it . Finally my window of opportunity arrives. I raise my hand and diligently go about my task. The teacher listens patiently. The trap has been set. My question is followed by an eery silence. The teacher seems unnerved, she brushes the question aside saying the class might not be interested in the answer. I insist she answer my query, Another awkward silence followed by the ferocious laughter of my 30 fellow class mates.
BOOM! Mission Accomplished.

For those of you wondering what that question might be, it wasn’t anything special. It is something we all have done, using some fancy term/fact we have learned from the internet or library to mess with the teacher(this doesn’t work when it is not related to the lesson). This devious scheme has helped me get many a grumpy, unhappy professors of my back and to top it off it has never failed me. Like all evil ingenious plots this one needed a name so I now call it, “the floccinaucinihilipilification(it has a literal meaning)”  named after the time I first used this trick on my proud and aggressively arrogant English teacher. At first she was adamant that no such thing existed but in the end she succumbed to a simple google search and I finally succeeded in felling her pride. It felt good, like I had taken the air out of some large ugly inflatable.

Note : To the back bench slackers, doing this may actually help you learn something but it could cause considerable damage to your reputation of being a slacker.

To those who hoped to learn the meaning of the title – it means the habit of making incorrect estimates/assumptions

Yours smart ass-ingly

8 thoughts on “floccinaucinihilipilification!

  1. It reminds me of how I made fun of the way my math teacher wrote pi.
    By the way, I wikipediaed the word it says the meaning is ‘The act or habit of describing or regarding something as unimportant.’

    P.S.
    I have a very unrelated question:
    Do they teach you English grammer in English lessons, in countries where English is the native language? (Terrible phrasing, I know).
    I’m asking this because they do teach us Hebrew grammer in Hebrew lessons, even though Hebrew is our native language. I wondered if they did the same in English speaking countries.

Leave a Reply

