The Funeral


People are born, they engage in something called life for sometime before they give in to the inevitable, which is death. Sometime’s death comes early, sometimes it comes at an appropriate time and if you’re really unlucky it comes far too late when all love for life has been seeped out of you and you can’t wait to breathe your last. It’s a real tragedy that but it happens and there’s nothing we can do to prevent it.

The life cycle of living beings is one of the many things we have no control over but the life cycle of inanimate objects that we’ve created ourselves can be controlled. It can be created at a whim and then destroyed before seeing our love for it diminish and get labored. Unfortunately, one such object has today reached the end of its cycle; welcome to its funeral. The object being this blog, TheEmbarrassment.

It was June 26, 2011 when I created this blog with the sole intention of keeping myself occupied rather than thinking about the morose happenings of life. It was a delicate moment and I needed a means of escape. TheEmbarrassment was the panacea then and I’m glad to say that at the end of it all it has brought a lot of joy to me. It helped me reestablish connections with old friends and make a lot of new ones. I got readers, followers, admirers and it was all fantastic.

                              Happy times: Seen on a strangers phone

Now, 200 subscribers and over 75,000 hits later I think the time has come to pull the plug on this. I want to write, I long to do it more than ever but I want to do something in a niche very different to what this blog was intended for. The motivation to do this no longer exists and I’d rather not have this dragged on forever. Perhaps I’ll do another blog or write for some other publication but for TheEmbarrassment, the time has come.

For now, I won’t be deleting the website as it is. I think it deserves to stay on the interweb for a while longer. I would like to thank you all for reading and being a part of this incredible journey. Goodbye and God bless!

2 thoughts on “The Funeral

  1. I won’t lie, I’m so sorry to see you go, but if you feel it’s right, I won’t grab onto your heels and scream loudly in your ears :) I will say this though… I always regretted deleting one of my earlier blogs from back in the day. If you do decide one day to delete, at least make sure you have a record of all the awesome that you have typed out store it somewhere, so it can gather dust and value. Plus I might wanna come back at some point and scream loudly in your ears.

    But dude, seriously, I wish you all the best of luck. The place genuinely just won’t be the same without you. x

Leave a Reply

